

## **CONFIRMED COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES**

Tuesday 26 November 2024 6:00pm Meeting held in person Town Hall, Maryborough, livestreamed on the internet.

## **MEMBERSHIP**

**Councillors:** 

Grace La Vella (Mayor)
Ben Green (Deputy Mayor)
Anna de Villiers
Jake Meyer
Geoff Bartlett
Gerard Murphy
Liesbeth Long

Confirmed at the 17 December 2024 Meeting

## 1. Commencement of Meeting and Welcome

The commencement of the meeting and welcome will be conducted by the Interim Chief Executive Officer, Sally Jones.

The Interim Chief Executive Officer will act as Chairperson to conduct the formal process of Mayoral Election.

The meeting commenced at 6pm, welcoming all present, with an Acknowledgement of Country and the Council Prayer.

## Present

#### Councillors:

Grace La Vella Ben Green Anna de Villiers Jake Meyer Geoff Bartlett Gerard Murphy Liesbeth Long

#### Officers:

Interim Chief Executive Officer Sally Jones General Manager Community Wellbeing Emma Little General Manager Assets Infrastructure and Planning Amber Ricks General Manager Corporate Performance Mick Smith Manager Governance Property and Risk Cecilia Connellan

# 2. Apologies

Nil

## 3. Conflicts of Interest

Nil

# 4. Election of Mayor

#### SUMMARY/PURPOSE

The purpose of this report is to provide for Council to set the Mayoral and Deputy Mayor term at one or two years.

To elect a Councillor to the office of Mayor and decided if the council is to establish an office of a deputy mayor.

S20A (1) A Council may establish an office of Deputy Mayor. (2) If the Council has established an office of Deputy Mayor, the provisions of this Act relating to the office of Deputy Mayor apply. (3) If a Council has not established an office of Deputy Mayor, section 20B applies.

S26 Clause 3 of the Local Government Act states that "Before the election of the Mayor, a Council, other than the Greater Geelong City Council, must determine by resolution whether the Mayor is to be elected for a 1 year or a 2-year term."

The Mayoral election must be chaired by the Chief Executive Officer who will call for nomination.

## **Motion for Term of Mayoral term**

#### **MOTION:**

That Council determines the length of term of the Mayor to be set at one year.

Moved: Cr La Vella

Seconded: Cr de Villiers

Carried

Cr who spoke to item: Nil

## **Motion for Election of Mayor**

#### **MOTION:**

That nominations be called for the office of Mayor.

Moved: Cr Murphy
Seconded: Cr Long

Carried

Cr who spoke to item: Nil

## **Election of Mayor**

The CEO called for nominations for Mayor.

A nomination for Cr Long was moved by Cr Long and seconded by Cr Meyer.

A nomination for Cr La Vella was moved by Cr de Villers and seconded by Cr Green.

A nomination for Cr Murphy was moved by Cr Murphy and seconded by Nil. Nomination lapsed.

The election was carried out in accordance with the Governance Rules and with an absolute majority Cr La Vella was declared as Mayor

## **MOTION:**

That standing orders be suspended to allow for the incoming Mayor to address the meeting, and for photographs to be taken.

Moved: Mayor Vella
Seconded: Cr de Villiers

Carried

Cr who Spoke to the Item: Nil

#### MOTION:

That standing orders be resumed.

Moved: Cr Long
Seconded: Cr Barlett

Carried

Cr who Spoke to the Item: Nil

## Motion for Establishment of the Office of Deputy Mayor

#### **ALTERNATIVE MOTION**

That Council, determines not to establish an office of the Deputy Mayor.

**Moved:** Cr Murphy **Seconded:** Cr Meyer

Lapsed

Cr who Spoke to the Item: Cr Murphy

## **AMENDED MOTION**

That Council, determines to establish an office of Deputy Mayor for a term of one year.

Moved: Cr de Villiers Seconded: Cr Green

Carried

Cr who Spoke to the Item: Cr de Villiers

## **Division Called by Cr Murphy:**

For: Cr Long, Cr Meyer, Cr De Villers, Mayor La Vella, Cr Green, Cr Bartlett

**Against:** Cr Murphy

## **Election of Deputy Mayor**

The Mayor called for nominations for Deputy Mayor.

A nomination for Cr Green was moved by Cr De Villers and seconded by Cr Bartlett.

The election was carried out in accordance with the Governance Rules and Cr Green was declared duly elected unopposed.

#### **Division Called by Cr Murphy:**

For: Cr Long, Cr Meyer, Cr De Villers, Mayor La Vella, Cr Green, Cr Bartlett

Against: Cr Murphy

# 5. Appointment of Representative/s to Committees and Organisations

## SUMMARY/PURPOSE

Councillors have the option to be appointed to various committees and statutory or regional bodies.

The purpose of this report is to provide information to Council regarding current Committees of Council, Council representation committees and to seek appointments to these bodies.

## **RECOMMENDATION**

That Council nominates its representatives to the committees for a one-year term as follows.

Committee/Statutory Body	Proposed Representative/s (pending the nomination of a Councillor representative/s)
Municipal Association of Victoria	Cr de Villiers
Audit and Risk Committee	Cr Bartlett Cr de Villiers
Australia Day Committee	All Councillors
Rural Councils Victoria	Cr Meyer
CEO Employment Matters Advisory Committee	All Councillors
Central Victoria Greenhouse Alliance	Cr Long
Municipal Emergency Management Committee/ Municipal Fire Management Committee	Cr Green Cr Meyer
Energy Breakthrough Committee	Cr Long
Climate Action Stewarding Group	Cr Bartlett
Walking and Cycling Advisory Group	Mayor La Vella
Tullaroop Creek Carisbrook Advisory Group	Cr de Villiers
Aerodrome Advisory Group	Cr Bartlett
Maryborough Heritage Review Reference Group	Group no long meets no representative required

Community Asset Committees (CACs)		
Committee/Statutory Body	Proposed Representative/s (pending the nomination of a Councillor representative/s)	
Daisy Hill Community Centre Committee	Cr Green	
Adelaide Lead Hall Committee	Cr Green	

Talbot Town Hall Committee	Cr Green
Talbot Community Homes Committee	Cr Green
Dunolly Historic Precinct Management Committee	Cr Long
Tullaroop Leisure Centre Committee	Cr de Villiers

Moved: Cr Green Seconded: Cr Murphy

Carried

Cr who Spoke to the Item: Nil

# 6. Recording of the Oath or Affirmation of Office

## SUMMARY/PURPOSE

Following the declaration of the Local Government Election Poll on 8 November 2024, Councillors were sworn into office on 13 November and 14 November 2024, as required by the Local Government Act 2020.

#### **RECOMMENDATION**

That Council notes the affirmations and oath of office taken by Councillors on 13 and 14 November 2024.

Moved: Cr Long Seconded: Cr Meyer

Carried

Cr who spoke to the item: Nil

Mayor La Vella – Mayor Speech

## 5. MEETING CLOSURE -

The meeting closed at 6.37pm